An Engaging Drama! (Satyaghraha – Music Review)


The music album of director Prakash Jha’s Satyagraha boasts of seven tracks, including a remix and a house mix version of a track. Composer duo Salim-Sulaiman Merchant has kept the essence of the political thriller through a mixed bag of romantic and patriotic songs.


Lyrics:  Prasoon Joshi;  Music Label: T Series


1. Satyaghraha – Singers: Rajiv Sundaresan, Shivam Pathak, Shweta Pandit;  Music: Salim-Sulaiman

The title track Satyagraha leads the album with its high-on-energy music. Singers Rajiv Sundaresan, Shivam Pathak and Shweta Pandit’s powerful rendition can give listeners goosebumps. The peaceful melody of the ‘Raghupati raghav’ hymn has been turned into this aggressive yet passionate song with commendable lyrics. The addition of rock music adds to the number. Thumbs up to this one!


2. Aiyo Ji – Singers: Salim Merchant, Shraddha Pandit;  Music: Salim-Sulaiman

“Aiyo ji” comes second in line. With the melodious Salim Merchant and Shraddha Pandit behind the mike, this one is an interesting contemporary track. It could have been a boring number, but its background beats save it. The lyrics have a sense of naughtiness, making it a perfect romantic number. A lot of special effects seem to have been added to the singers voices as well. This only adds to its beauty.


3. Raske Bhare Tore Naina – Singers: Shafqat Amanat Ali, Arpita Chakraborti;  Music: Aadesh Shrivastav

Sung by Shafqat Amanat Ali and Arpita Chakraborty, it is a perfect blend of Indian classical music with everything Bollywood. Shafqat once again proves his singing prowess, and Arpita’s voice blends in very well. It has a little regional influence in the lyrics. Undoubtedly, the finest composition of the album. It is the WELCOME song.


4. Janta Rocks – Singers:  Meet Bros Anjan AnkitKeerthi SagathiaPaponShibani KashyapShalmali Kholgade;  Music: Meet Bros Anjan Ankit

Janta rocks is a good track; its peppy start can be misleading. The listener can lose interest after a bit as it is over seven minutes long. The lyrics are attention-grabbing and full of sarcasm, giving it a mass appeal, but even that fails to hold the listener’s interest beyond a point.


5. Hum Bhole The – Singers:  Rahul RamAmit KilamHimanshu Joshi;  Music: Indain Ocean

Energy and passion reach their peak with Indian Ocean members Rahul Ram, Himanshu Joshi and Amit Kilam jamming in the song Hum bhole the. The music attracts a listener more than the singers, and a roaring ‘jugalbandi’ of sorts between the guitar and drums seem to emerge out of it, giving the number a certain level of aggression. A must hear.


Overall, the music of Satyagraha might not have a long shelf life, but it definitely leaves an impact on the listener.

The Final Verdict:  POSSIBLE


Musical Sameekshaa Awards August 2013:


Singer of the Month (Female):  Chinmaye – Titli  (Chennai Express)

Singer of the Month (Male): Javed Bashir – Ye Tune Kya Kiya (Once Upon A Time In Mumbaai Dobara)

Singer Jodi of the Month: Chinmaye & Gopi Sunder – Titli (Chennai Express)

Composer of the Month:  Pritam – Ye Tune Kya Kiya (Once Upon A Time In Mumbaai Dobara)

Lyricist of the Month:  Prasoon Joshi – Janta Rocks (Satyagraha)

Song of the Month: Raske Bhare Tore Nain – Satyaghraha  (Aadhesh Shrivastav, Prasoon Joshi)

Album of the Month:  Chennai Express (T Series)


Next:  Shuddh Desi Romance


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s