Tiresome Multi-Composer Formula (Jackpot – Music Review)




Honestly saying, I had no plan to review this album. The only thing which attracted me was an Arijit Singh song with a romantic name. With much knowing about the movie, one can assume it to be a movie with hardly any scope for music. The multi composers formula has been brought in its soundtrack. Let’s see whether these number composers would be able to sustain the soundtrack.


Music Label:  T Series


1. Kabhi Jo Baadal Barse / Kabhi Jo Baadal Barse – Singer: Arijit Singh / Shreya Ghoshal;  Music: Sharib-Toshi;  Lyrics: Turaz, Azeem Shirazi

Sharib and Toshi has delivered a track sounding like a Bhatt melody though a lot different from that. I had assumed it to be a simple beautiful romantic track. To my surprise, it turned out to be a damn addictive melody which has been composed so intelligently. The basic melody has been churned out using Violin. Usually, Sharib-Toshi do not compose melodies like this. Arijit is ofcourse excellent. He makes the song more addictive. In the female version, there’s Shreya Ghoshal, who also sang beautifully. In Arijit’s version, percussions have been used more though in Shreya’s, the sound of percussions have been kept mild. Her vocals have been given more scope though in the male one, Arijit’s vocals are competed with the instruments. The main hero is the violin which is played enormously throughout the song. If you are in a romantic mood or you like romantic tracks, Do Not dare to miss this one! Highly recommended WELCOME track.


2. Full Jhol – Singers: Mika Singh, Akasa Singh;  Music: Mika Singh;  Lyrics: Raj Hans

This one is composed by our very own Mika. He has definitely produced some amazing sounds and specially at the starting. I applaud him for that. The basic tune is nice and a bit catchy too. It is well supported by techno sounds. But the problem lies in the composition. The composition is a lack of creativity. He has just played with sounds and there’s no specific song like tune or rhythm. There also hasn’t any scope of singing. Just a mixture of some sound software.


3. Bol Bugger Bol – Singer: Remo Fernandes;  Music: Remo Fernandes;  Lyrics: Abhijeet Deshpande, Remo Fernandes

It’s not a proper song but an annoying rap which keeps on repeating on a loop. The sounds are good but that’s it. Not a single line is there in the song for which you can say that “ya! that’s a tune!” The composer Remo didn’t show a single sign of creativity. He has made his composition very limited. It has stuck within a rap and has nothing else to attract any listener. The lyrics just decrease the tolerance level. A passable one!


4. Jackpot Jeetna – Singer: Sunidhi Chauhan;  Music: Sridevi Keshavan, Janaka Atugoda;  Lyrics: Kaizad Gustad, Sridevi Keshavan

It’s a track with complete English lyrics excluding the line Jackpot Jeetna. The never before heard composers have done their job really well. Considering their debut song, It’s a wonderfully made track. It has some uniqueness and its own sound. The lyrics are ordinary though meaningful. Sunidhi is in full form. She sounded awesome with her hardcore vocals which completely suited the track. Want to be aware of new sounds and styles of music, this one is for you then.


5. Jackpot – Singer: Hamsika Iyer;  Music: Juno Reactor;  Lyrics: Kaizad Gustad

Another title track is basically an instrumental theme track. It has amazing arrangements. The recording has been done very well. For a instrumental piece, it’s quite long. Hamsika Iyer has been credited for her backing vocals in the ending of the track. But I am unable to guess for what reason a lyricist has been credited for an instrumental track. This another new composer has made the theme track very well. Let’s see what other offers he will be getting. If you love to listen techno sounds without vocals, go for it!


6. Eggjactly – Singer: Jaaved Jaaferi;  Music: Rahul Bhatt;  Lyrics: Jaaved Jaaferi

Now that’s called a nice good rap. The concept is inherited from Jaaved Jaaferi’s character in Salaam Namastey who used to say Eggjaclty the same way he pronounced it in this track. The beats are nice and apt for rap. He sang the rap quite amazingly and comfortably. The main attraction is the lyrics which is also written by Jaaved Jaaferi. It’s a satirical song depicting the present condition of our country in a humorous satirical way. It’s a must listen track just for the lyrics.


7. Now You See Me, Now You Don’t – Singer: Ramya Iyer;  Music: Itek Bhutani;  Lyrics: Kaizad Gustad, Ramya Iyer

It’s a very short track with lyrics in English. The vocals of Ramya sounded sexy. There wasn’t much scope of singing though. A nice short track to end the soundtrack. You may leave it!


Jackpot – An album which is unpurposely lengthy, at times dull and boring also. It’s not a music friendly movie. So, there wasn’t much need for putting seven songs in the soundtrack. Kabhi Jo Baadal Barse is a scorer. Bothe the title tracks are nicely composed and arranged. Eggjacly has the amazing lyrical power. Rest of the track are dull, forgettable and passable. In this album, we met many newcomer composers and lyricists. The soundtrack deserves to Sharib and Toshi for composing an intense romantic addictive melody.


The Final Verdict:  OKAY



Next:  R.. Rajkumar




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s