Cables of Effort!! (Sonali Cable – Music Review)

Set in the cable internet turf war of Mumbai, Sonali Cable is the story of a ghetto girl and her ‘internet boys’, who take on a greedy conglomerate that’s out to decimate their spirit of enterprise. Written and Directed by Charudutt Acharya, it was one of the eight scripts selected for Mumbai Mantra-Sundance Institute Screenwriters Lab 2012, chosen through an evaluation process of submissions from around the world, including the United States and France. There are six songs among which three have been composed by Daniel B. George, and Mikey Mccleary, Amjad-Nadeem and Raghav Sachar have one each.



CLICK HERE to buy Full Soundtrack of Sonali Cable from iTUNES!!


CLICK to Listen Full Songs


Music Label:  Zee Music Company


1. Ek Mulaqat / Ek Mulaqat Ho / Ek Mulakat (Unplugged) – Singer: Altamash Faridi / Jubin Nautiyal;  Music: Amjad-Nadeem;  Lyrics: Sameer Anjaan

If people say that compositions are losing their originality, I won’t correct them. All those compositions, belonging to this genre, have a very similar kind of sound, similar kind of mood and the similar basic structure. As you hear this melody, many Mithoon and Chirantan Bhatt sounds would start popping in your mind. These songs are mastered excellently in order to hide all the weaknesses of the arrangements. The version by Altamash has comparatively higher notes and is less filmy. The unplugged version has simple Guitar arrangements thereby increasing the vulnerability but fortunately lands safe.


2. Gannu Rocks – Singers: Anmol Malik (Aarti), Vishal Dadlani;  Music: Mikey Mccleary;  Lyrics: Kausar Munir

The energetic Ganpati song by Mikey is fun to hear. The first attraction is led by Kausar for calling our so-called beloved God Ganesha with “Gannu” as if he is her hubby. Then, everything is forgiven at once when you hear the dynamic arrangements done excellently by Mikey. The coordination has been set up quite nicely in the hook line. Anmol singing the aarti part and Vishal has been given rest of the song which he has handled with ideal responsibility. Although it can be a controversial song, all is well from Mikey’s side. #WelcomeSong


3. Cheenti Cheenti Bang Bang – Singers: Manish J. Tipu, Sayantani Ray;  Music: Daniel B. George;  Lyrics: Charudutt Acharya

This is the so-called item song of the movie. The composer and director-cum-lyricist has tried a lot to infuse some humor but they have only landed with irritation. Sayantani, whose last good song I remembered was from Mumbai Mirror for Amjad-Nadeem. She was quite amazing there. Here also, she hasn’t dealt with any fault in her singing, but due to the song being below average, it seems that she doesn’t have much scope for showing her variations. She has done complete justice with the song but the song failed to do justice with her voice. Too cheap and loud to attempt.


4. Mausam Yeh Kyun Badal Gaya – Singer: Kshitij Tarey;  Music: Raghav Sachar;  Lyrics: Kumaar

On minimal arrangements, the composition rules. Raghav Sachar has kept it simple and melodious. He hasn’t done much instrumentation and stuck himself to the soulful tune. The rest is responsibly and adorably managed by Kshitij. His vocals are actually the highlight of the song. The song could never have sounded so awesome, if a voice like his wasn’t be there. Kumaar’s lyrics are not very thoughtful and great but in a good sync with the composition. Likable melody. 


5. Sapney Apney – Singer: Neeti Mohan;  Music: Daniel B. George;  Lyrics: Kausar Munir

Again Daniel has kept the song too loud to attempt. The Rock background has been given more than enough importance and the song hasn’t been mastered perfectly resulting in kerfuffle and poor sounds. Neeti Mohan has carried the song well yet one cannot find attraction in it. Kausar has penned the same old stuff describing how a female character is, little ziddi etc. The basic tune is not bad. It could have been a good song if Daniel had kept it soft and innocent. Not tempting.


6. Sikkay – Singer: Amitabh Narayan;  Music: Daniel B. George;  Lyrics: Swanand Kirkire

Although the mastering is very poor, Daniel can’t be blamed. Finally he has kept it a little soothing. Swanand’s lyrics deliver the much needed charm in the song. The mukhda is really good and thoughtful and fused with Swanand’s lyrics but the antara is really flat making the song utterly uninteresting and colorless. The arrangements have been done with Guitar and Drums but surprisingly not loudly. Amitabh’s voice is easy on ears and is similar to that of Shekhar. He would have sounded much better if the mastering was done with clarity. Good effort in composition, spoiling effort in recording. 


Sonali Cable wasn’t expected to deliver some good stuff so if it has, rejoice!


The Final Verdict:  NOT A PROBLEM



Next:  Haider / Bang Bang


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s