Yennai Arindhaal – Music Review (Tamil)

The film stars Ajith Kumar in the lead along with Arun Vijay, Trisha, Anushka Shetty, Parvathy Nair and Vivek. It is directed by renowned filmmaker Gautham Menon. The film’s title means “Well if you know me…” The music is given by Harris Jayaraj. Yennai_Arindhaal


CLICK HERE to buy Full Soundtrack of Yennai Arindhaal from iTUNES!!


CLICK to Listen Full Songs


Music: Harrish Jayaraj;  Lyrics: Thamarai;  Music Label: Sony Music


1. Yaen Ennai – Singers: Sunitha Sarathy, Kharesma Ravichandran

Guitar playing is the highlight of this track wonderfully woven with the rhythmic texture by Harris. Sunitha and Kharesma, both of them had hardly anything great to do in this, yet they managed to please though Harris is actually the protagonist of the song, arranging the techno sounds fruitfully. The song is purely westernized pop which with the sake of everybody involved in this, is completely justified. Good attempt, fantastic arrangement and mixing.


2. Mazhai Vara Pogudhae – Singers: Karthik, Emcee Jesz

Here also, Harris has impressed mostly with his rhythms in the mukhda. Emcee’s rap also doesn’t disengage the listening and if it does, Karthik’s melodious vocals wonderfully take the control again. Again, the mixing has been done awesomely, letting each sound and beat have the opportunity to show its impressions. It’s a deadly Harris-Karthik combo!


3. Unakkenna Venum Sollu – Singers: Benny Dayal, Mahathi

Benny shows his impact and Mahathi with her splendidly beautiful vocals raises the level of the song. Wonderfully recorded and intelligently orchestrated, sounding damn soothing, the song touches you and stays with you for a long time. Harris successfully draws the listeners’ attention from the utterly melodious and catchy tune in the form of hook line which makes it a Must listen!  #WelcomeSong


4. Yennai Arindhaal – Singers: Devan Ekambaram, Mark Thomas, Abhishek

You hardly get to hear such an excellent handling with techno sounds. In this title track, the dubstep has been treated so well that one would want to pat on Harris’ back. Devan, though not having much scope for singing, handles this heavy techno-laid track very well. Later, the song doesn’t appeal much as it loses the creativity and is left with machine work only. Still, the techno sounds have been treated tremendously well. Impresses in a single go! 


5. Adhaaru Adhaaru – Singers: Harris Jayaraj, Vijay Prakash, Gana Bala;  Guest Lyricist: Vignesh Shivan

This mass-oriented song is a likable kuthu effort that has everything in the place where it should be. Harris and Vijay on top forms and the team Gana Bala does an uniquely impressive job, offering something very different from the regular music style. Apt beats with equally apt arrangements leads to some five pretty good minutes to enjoy. Lovely template! 


6. Maya Bazaar – Singers: Alaap Raju, Priya Subramaniam, Velmurugan, Krishna Iyer

Krishna Iyer begins this melange with impressive dubstep portion, wonderfully managed by Harris, then moving to something very contrary to dubstep, is the semi-classical retro-ish piece rendered with utter melody by Alaap Raju and Priya. The song doesn’t end here as it moves towards something more folksy in its form which is performed by Velmurugan. Finally, it turns again to that semi-classical melody with a slight difference, calling for a great chorus in that. Creatively good and musically varied track.


7. Idhayathai Yedho Ondru – Singer: Chinmayi

Chinmayi ends the soundtrack admirably with the female and milder version of an already mild song Unakkenna Venum Sollu. Harris has put an endearing Flute in the background that merges well with Chinmayi’s lovable vocals making it much more soothing than its male counterpart. Till that catchy tune is there in the mukhda, nobody can get bored of both the versions. Chinmayi’s sprite rendition!


A soundtrack with varied genres and styles, each of which is carried perfectly by Harris Jayaraj.


The Final Verdict:  AGREE



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s