Illaiyaraaja’s 1000th Album!!!! (Shamitabh – Music Review)

It is the third collaboration of the trio Amitabh Bachchan, Illaiyaraaja and director R. Balki. Their collaboration has been a blockbuster but everytime liked by the audience and the listeners. This is 1000th album of Illaiyaraaja’s career which is a record that cannot be broken by anybody unless another legend like him is born.

CLICK HERE to buy Full Soundtrack of Shamitabh from iTUNES!!

CLICK to Listen Full Songs

Music: Illaiyaraaja;  Lyrics: Swanand Kirkire;  Music Label: Eros Music

1. Ishq E Fillum – Singer: Suraj Jagan – This song is a way of giving tribute to cinema and its lovers in our country where in every place, situation, emotion, we unintentionally act as being filmy. Apart from the lyrics, it is Suraj’s singing that deserves appreciation. The harmony is rightly set by Illaiyaraaja which is the most beautiful part of the song. Brilliant chorus!!

2. Sha Sha Mi Mi – Singer: Caralisa Monteiro;  Guest Lyricist: Kausar Munir – I don’t find any reason to call Kausar specially to write this song because she has written nothing actually. Illaiyaraaja’s tune only helps a bit to some extent namely in the neutral vowel singing which has been well programmed too. Caralisa’s vocals sound superb! Only for Illaiyaraaja’s fans.

3. Piddly – Singer: Amitabh Bachchan – Illaiyaraaja has saved his best for Big B. This is a rocking catchy foot tapping track that has almost everything that keeps you engaged, primarily being the tune and the singer. Violin is intensely used which has actually fitted quite well with respect to the kind of song it is. Beats are good enough to keep you hooked to it. An enjoyable treat! #WelcomeSong

4. Sannata – Singer: Shruti Haasan – This is arrangement-wise a highly experimental track though lacks in good tune. The prime factor to listen it for, are the lyrics which is, I guess, trying to taunt the fact that actors get the most importance so it’s realizing that we have singers and lyricists who need to get their due. Well, what it actually wants to tell, we’ll get to know in the film. Shruti has delivered a crackling performance.

5. Thappad – Singers: Suraj Jagan, Earl D’Souza – Song has nothing but thappad. Lack of specific tune and weak lyrics with no scope for singing. Earl does an impressive rap. The instrumentation in the interlude is the only fabulous thing in the whole song. The rest is just the hoping for some good visual stuff in the film. Very unimpressive.

6. Lifebuoy – Singer: Suraj Jagan – The famous ad-jingle of Lifebuoy has been recreated here with a more aggressive attitude. Now, whatever you call it, experimental or novelty, it just doesn’t at all impress. The composition is so staid that it starts sounding odd. Suraj though is perfect!! Not an impressive make-over of the famous jingle. 

By Illaiyaraaja’s performance, the album doesn’t seem to have anything special to be the 1000th album of the composer’s career.

The Final Verdict:  OKAY



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s