Assembly of Composers!! (Dilliwaali Zaalim Girlfriend – Music Review)

It doesn’t happen normally that you get to hear an album consisting of eight songs by eight different composers unless it is a T-Series album. They hired eight composers for this small film, you wonder why, after listening to the album.

CLICK HERE to buy Full Soundtrack of Dilliwaali Zaalim Girlfriend from iTUNES!!

CLICK to Listen Full SongsJatinder

Music Label: T-Series

1. Birthday Bash – Singers: Yo Yo Honey Singh, Alfaaz;  Music: Yo Yo Honey Singh;  Lyrics: Alfaaz – After reaching to a certain level of creativity, Honey Singh has again returned to his standard dance numbers that become so monotonous after a certain period of time that you just feel like stopping it. Alfaaz’s lyric writing is even worse than that of Honey Singh. The song is not able to covey anything, not even the zaalimness of the girlfriend properly. Highly monotonous!

2. Tipsy Hogai – Singers: Rajveer Singh, Miss Pooja;  Music: Dr. Zeus;  Lyrics: Zora Randhawa, Mavi Bains –  Assembly has yet another repetitive composer who just tried to renovate the Happy New Year song Lovely. You clearly find instances where you just about to croon the line main lovely ho gayi. No wonder the lyrics also didn’t change much. It just renovated from lovely ho gayi to tipsy ho gayi. I am amazed by the amount of hard work that Dr. Zeus has done in this song. What a renovation, or just a recreation, or whatever it is!

3. Zaalim Dilli – Singers: Jazzy B, Hard Kaur;  Music: Tiger Style;  Lyrics: Bunty Bains – Tiger Style is a Scottish Punjabi music group from the British background. They have numerous albums to their credit and this is supposed to be their Bollywood debut and not an impressive one, I should say. The composition is quite staid and fails to hold the listeners for long. Their style seems to be similar with that of Manj Muzic. Jazzy B and Hard Kaur excels but the composition fails to impress.

4. Tere Liye – Singers: Indeep Bakshi, Soni B;  Music: Indeep Bakshi;  Lyrics: Indeep Bakshi – A very stereotypical romantic track that relies highly on the techno beats and autotuning. Indeep Bakshi although has handled all the three departments but sadly fails to impress in any of them. Soni B has a small portion which she performs decently. Composition is nice though it doesn’t have the ability to retain itself for long as the song is totally a result of machine work.  

5. Janib (Duet) / Janib (Female) – Singers: Arijit Singh, Sunidhi Chauhan / Sunidhi Chauhan;  Music: Jatinder Shah;  Lyrics: Kumaar – This is a big relief. Thanks to Jatinder Shah. His composition is an amazingly sweet melody with very appropriate and fitting lyrics by Kumaar. Arijit as always has ruled over the song with powerful lovable voice along with a pretty appreciable support from Sunidhi. Duet is definitely better as it maintains the balance well between the two though Arijit has got more portions to sing. The female version is also impressive though the impact that the duet version creates is incomparable. Wonderful arrangements and orchestration add up to the soothe. Highly recommended!! #WelcomeSong

6. Meri Marzi, Teri Raza – Singers: K Mohan, Meet Bros Anjjan;  Music: Meet Bros Anjjan;  Lyrics: Kumaar –  Fortunate listeners who are reading this review, can skip all those above tracks and listen to songs like Janib and this one. It’s vague to expect a serious song from Meet Bros Anjjan these days but thankfully they have finally attempted a serious one after a long time. K Mohan’s voice never fails to create impact although the composition could have been brighter in terms of the tunes and arrangements. Some might easily find this a boring as the only drawback it has is its long duration.

7. Saddi Dilli – Singer: Milind Gaba;  Music: Milind Gaba;  Lyrics: Milind Gaba – The soundtrack returns to its techno Punjabi flavor with this song describing about Delhi’s quality and speciality of Delhiites, basically giving an extremely bad impression about Delhi to the outsiders. Milind Gaba’s singing, composition both fail miserably and lyrics are not worse than to be called pathetic. Bad attempt.

8. Maa De Dandeya – Singer: Jassi Katyal;  Music: Jassi Katyal;  Lyrics: Kumaar – It’s a satirical song having lyrics with an agenda. Composition doesn’t seem to be having much scope. It must have been appropriate on the screen. Kumaar’s lyrics is the highlight which is good enough to engage the listeners. The rest of the department has nothing exciting to offer.  

Eight composers. Eight songs. Seven failed miserably. Jatinder Shah beautifully saves the album with his melodious creation.

The Final Verdict:  NOT A PROBLEM


Musical Sameekshaa Monthly Awards (March 2015)

Singer of the Month (Female):  Sunidhi Chauhan – Janib (Dilliwaali Zaalim Girlfriend)

Singer of the Month (Male):  Arijit Singh – Janib (Dilliwaali Zaalim Girlfriend)

Singer Jodi of the Month:  Arijit Singh & Sona Mohapatra – Chori Chori (Hunterrr)

Composer of the Month (Song):  Jatinder Shah – Janib (Dilliwaali Zaalim Girlfriend)

Lyricist of the Month:  Swanand Kirkire – Bachpan (Hunterrr)

Composer of the Month (Album):  Khamosh Shah – Hunterrr

Song of the Month:  Janib – Dilliwaali Zaalim Girlfriend  (Jatinder Shah, Kumaar)

Album of the Month:  Hunterrr – Zee Music Company


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s