An Extremely Complicated Case!! (Detective Byomkesh Bakshi – Music Review)

Dibakar Banerji is back with his yet another seem-to-be mindblowing film and as the genre changes in his every film, this time he is up with a detective thriller, a very famous character from Hindi Literature called Byomkesh Bakshi. He was going mainstream from Sneha Khanwalkar to Vishal-Shekhar but in this he takes sudden towards pure Indie music which seems to weird to be digested by an ordinary Bollywood music lover.

CLICK HERE to buy Full Soundtrack of Detective Byomkesh Bakshy from iTUNES!!

CLICK to Listen Full Songs

Music Label: YRF Music

1. Calcutta Kiss – Singers: Imaad Shah, Saba Azad;  Music: Madboy/Mink;  Lyrics: Madboy/Mink – It’s great to hear a remake song when you are well acquainted with the original. The Madboy/Mink band is lead by both the singers Imaad Shah who is Naseeruddin Shah’s son and his girlfriend Saba Azad who has been quite a famous name now due to her Bartender singing. As Saba always, she again spreads her magic with her jazzy styled singing that keeps you hooked to the song right from the beginning. Also, the arrangements are flawless. Guitar has been creatively used and the Trumpets give it an attractive retro touch. Jazz lovers! Go for it!

2. Back Ke Bakshy – Singers: Gowri Jayakumar, Big Deal, Thomson Andrews, Trevor, Rap by: Smokey The Ghosht, Craz Professa;  Music: Sneha Khanwalkar, Dibakar Banerjee;  Lyrics: Sneha Khanwalkar, Dibakar Banerjee –      This is truly an amazing work. No doubt about that as the lady behind it is none other than Sneha. Her band of singers is purely Indie yet she has so well managed to create something that would easily pull a regular Bollywood listener though being highly experimental. Gowri is very impressive with her classical part and the chorus which sings the hook line is just brilliant. The percussion is well organized and programmed. The dialogues in between are intelligently used by Sneha where Dibakar Banerjee must have helped her. Brilliantly engaging! Typical Sneha stuff!

3. Byomkesh In Love – Singers: Rishi Bradoo, Anil Bradoo, Usri Banerjee;  Music: Blek;  Lyrics: Rishi Bradoo –  Although the track is purely westernized and written in English, the most attractive part of the song is the lovely Classical rendition by Ursi Banerjee. The song has been programmed so well that you don’t care what’s going on, you just want to keep listening it. Electric Guitar has been used really well, making a it a nice fusion of Western English Pop and Indian Classical Music. It’s all about blending… and it is done superbly!

4. Jaanam – Singer: Suryakant Sawhney;  Music: Peter Cat Recording Co. (PCRC);  Lyrics: Suryakant Sawhney –  Okay, is it just me or you all feel it to be quite similar to the song Dilbar mere kab tak mujhe from Satte Pe Satta. The lilting rhythmic pattern which can also be witnessed in Main Agar Kahoon or basically in several retro tracks, is the highlight of the track. Suryakant’s singing style is marvelous. The arrangements are gonna amaze you for sure. It’s a pure melody in this heavy soundtrack. #WelcomeSong

5. Chase In Chinatown – Singers: Vyshnav Balasubramaniam, Sandeep Madhavan, Manas Ullas;  Music: Mode AKA;  Lyrics: Sandeep Madhavan – This is what we heard in the trailer and which greatly helped in developing the pace of the trailer. Vyshnav’s Heavy Metal sort of singing is terrific, setting the mood of the song appropriately. It though seems too heavy to digest by a film music listener. Anyway, the intention behind the making of such a sing is entirely for the pace of the movie. Effective!

6. Life’s A Bitch – Singer: Akshay De;  Music: Joint Family;  Lyrics: Akshay De – This one is even heavier. Now, this is purely Heavy Metal. Nobody except the Heavy Metal fans is gonna like it. Akshay De has a done a very impressive job. Joint Family is a Delhi based Metal band and Akshay De is its lead singer. He has sung his heart out and his effort is very effective. I don’t have to define or review this, as you all know how a Heavy Metal song sounds like. ONLY for Heavy Metal listeners. Others, do not attempt!!

7. Yang Guang Lives – Singer: IJA;  Music: IJA;  Lyrics: IJA – That is the weirdest track I have ever heard. Nobody knows who is IJA. Is he a person or a group. What is its full form. It’s good to be a part of the background score but definitely not of the soundtrack. Not even as a theme track. Avoid. You won’t get anything. 

One of the most well experimented soundtracks of Bollywood. 

The Final Verdict:  POSSIBLE



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s