A Soundtrack by Mrs. T-Series!! (Sanam Re – Music Review)

Mrs. T-Series Divya Khosla Kumar is back with her second directorial after Yaariyan. Music is given by Mithoon, Amaal Mallik, Jeet Gannguli and a group called Epic Bhangra.

CLICK HERE to buy the soundtrack of Sanam Re on iTUNES!!

CLICK to Listen Full Songs

Music Label: T-Series 

1. Sanam Re – Singer: Arijit Singh;  Music: Mithoon;  Lyrics: Mithoon – Since Mithoon had also a song in Divya’s previous film Yaariyan, it is clearly visible (or audible, in this case) how Mithoon has degraded his class. The song is undoubtedly decent enough to be liked but that unique extreme-melodic essence of Mithoon is absent. Rather than being a lovable Mithoon Melody, it remains to be just another average forgettable track.

2. Gazab Ka Hain Yeh Din – Singer: Arijit Singh;  Music: Amaal Mallik;  Lyrics: Manoj Muntashir – The whole song on one side and the humming on the other. The tune which Arijit hums, stands out alone irrespective of the whole song. It is fabulously composed by Amaal. Although the video is out and it shows the characters romancing and relaxing on a beach, the audio itself gives that feeling with Arijit’s refreshing vocals and Guitar being played superbly. Lyrics in the antara deserve special mention. Refreshing.

3. Hua Hain Aaj Pehli Baar – Singers: Armaan Malik, Palak Muchhal;  Music: Armaan Mallik;  Lyrics: Manoj Yadav – Amaal comes up with his second, the song which is quite rich in melody, particularly the melody of mukhda which Armaan has sung with sincerity. Palak has a very small portion to sing which only works in the favor of the song. The indianized instrumentation seems to have been done intentionally which could have been avoided since it’s taking away the freshness of the composition. Lyrics does have substance. Lovely melody. #WelcomeSong

4. Humne Pee Rakhi Hai – Singers: Jaz Dhami, Neha Kakkar, Ikka;  Music: Epic Bhangra;  Lyrics: Kumaar, Ikka – Just because there should be a club track, here it is. Epic Bhangra has nothing epic to offer. It has the lamest hook line one must have heard. Neha, being a talented singer, must avoid these songs now. And I won’t hesitate to say this – it is the worst club track I have ever heard.

5. Kya Tujhe Ab Ye Dil Bataye – Singer: Falak Shabbir;  Music: Amaal Mallik;  Lyrics: Manoj Muntashir – Amaal Mallik with his third track offers a Bhatt-like template with Falak Shabbir’s crystal-clear vocals on Rock arrangements to which Manoj Muntashir chooses the apt words to represent that particular mood. Lacks freshness. 

6. Tere Liye – Singer: Ankit Tiwari;  Music: Mithoon;  Lyrics: Mithoon – It sounds more like a Himesh Reshammiya song than a Mithoon Sharma song. Otherwise, it’s a good melody, not having much shelf life though, unlike previous Mithoon songs that are ever-alive. Ankit sings for Mithoon for the first time and sounds much better than what he does in his own compositions. A decent stuff. 

7. Tum Bin – Singer: Shreya Ghoshal;  Music: Jeet Gannguli;  Lyrics: Rashmi Virag – T-Series team nowadays is recreating their older tracks. Although previous tracks were just remade, this track is modified completely. It has been composed in a certain pattern, particularly the mukhda in the way that one line consists of the original tune, the other consists of the new tune. The antara is completely fresh though. Who better than Shreya to render it in order to maintain the level of the original which Chitra had sung. Lyrics too have a tough competition to the lyrics of original, though it’s difficult to predict whether it is going to be remembered for long. Modified version of Tum Bin Jiya Jaaye Kaise (Tum Bin).

8. Chhote Chhote Tamashe – Singer: Shaan;  Music: Jeet Gannguli;  Lyrics: Manoj Muntashir – This seems, to me, the only situational song in the album. Shaan is quite professional in singing these kind of ‘children songs’. Jeet has composed a likable melody which suits the mood of the situation perfectly along with Manoj’s lyrics working as an additional flavor if not offering something unique. A song for kids. 

Amaal Mallik leading the soundtrack with his two rich melodies, Mithoon and Jeet Gannguli lagging far behind. 

The Final Verdict:  OKAY 





Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s