‘Rehnuma’, the only Saving Grace!! (Rocky Handsome – Music Review)

Nishikant Kamat is back with another action thriller after Drishyam, starring John Abraham in and as Rocky Handsome. The music is given by the one film old duo Inder Bawra & Sunny Bawra, Ankit Tiwari and Bombay Rockers.

CLICK HERE to buy the Soundtrack of Rocky Handsome on iTUNES!!

CLICK to Listen Full Songs

Music Label: T-Series 

1. Rock Tha Party – Singers: Bombay Rockers (Navtej Singh Rehal, Thomas Weinholt Sardorf, Jasun Bosen Barnewitz);  Guest Composers:  Bombay Rockers (Navtej Singh Rehal, Thomas Weinholt Sardorf, Jasun Bosen Barnewitz);  Lyrics: Bombay Rockers (Navtej Singh Rehal, Thomas Weinholt Sardorf, Jasun Bosen Barnewitz) – The album kicks off with the decade old superhit party number by Bombay Rockers which was once a rage among youths. The song sounds equally good today though a less groovy. Adding this track into the album serves only one purpose that it gives the reason to the listeners to enjoy it once more and refresh their memories. 

2. Rehnuma – Singers: Shreya Ghoshal, Inder Bawra (Backing Vocals: Deepti Rege, Arohi Mhatre, Mayuri Patwardhan);  Music: Sunny Bawra, Inder Bawra;  Lyrics: Manoj Muntashir, Sagar Lahauri – The composers have come up with a beautiful mellow composition that has Shreya singing in such base notes that creates a lovely romantic atmosphere all around. The arrangements are as good as the composition. The first words tu jo mila themselves have such a tune that instantly appeals and catches listeners’ attention. Lyrics are beautifully written, accompanying the melody well. Sensuous. #WelcomeSong

3. Alfazon Ki Tarah – Singer: Ankit Tiwari;  Music: Ankit Tiwari;  Lyrics: Abhendra Kumar Upadhyay – As expected, the typical Ankit Tiwari melody with mukhda being good and antara being dull. In the already dull composition, when Guitars are introduced, it becomes even duller. Abhendra’s lyrics have repetitive words and lines that leave nothing to observe in the track. 

4. Aye Khuda / Aye Khuda (Duet) – Singers: Rahat Fateh Ali Khan / Rahat Fateh Ali Khan, Shreya Ghoshal;  Music: Sunny Bawra, Inder Bawra;  Lyrics: Sachin Pathak, Shekhar Astitwa – A track during which you can have a nap. It is so dull and the lyrics are so full of heard before lines that one wants it to get over with it soon. To whatever limit it is able to engage, it is because of Rahat. The duet version has just one line by Shreya, the rest is similarly dull. Extremely dull.

5. Titliyan – Singer: Sunidhi Chauhan (Backing Vocals: Deepti Rege, Arohi Mhatre, Mayuri Patwardhan);  Music: Sunny Bawra, Inder Bawra;  Lyrics: Sagar Lahauri – It seems that composers did try to create a thematic impact of the film but their efforts did not favor the appeal factor of the song. It mostly has dull moments which only improved a bit by the techno sounds in the end. Poor impact. 

The one romantic song by Sunny & Inder Bawra is the only saving grace in this extremely dull album. 

The Final Verdict:  NOT A PROBLEM 


Musical Sameekshaa Monthly Awards (March 2016)

Singer of the Month (Female): Minu Bakshi – Jiske Sir Upar Tu Swami (Zubaan)

Singer of the Month (Male): Bhai Mahinderjit Singh – Jo Mange Thakur (Zubaan)

Singer Jodi of the Month: Rachel Varghese & Mandar Deshpande – Kori Pukar (Zubaan)

Composer of the Month (Song): Ashutosh Pathak – Ajj Saanu O Mileya (Zubaan)

Lyricist of the Month: Manoj Muntashir – Sathi Rey (Kapoor & Sons)

Composer of the Month (Album): Salim-Sulaiman – Jai Gangaajal

Song of the Month: Saathi Rey – Kapoor & Sons  (Arko, Manoj Muntashir)

Album of the Month: Zubaan – T-Series




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s