Sugar-free Melodies!! (Waiting – Music Review)

Director Anu Menon who returns after her debut London, Paris, New York, is all set for her new venture with Kalki Koechlin and Naseeruddin Shah. Music is given by Mikey McCleary.

CLICK to Listen Full Songs

Music: Mikey McCleary;  Music Label: Zee Music Company 

1. Tu Hai Toh Main Hoon – Singers: Anushka Manchanda, Nikhil D’Souza;  Lyrics: Manoj Muntashir – The very first song tells that Mikey is the perfect choice for the film. His style of music goes amazingly well with the mood of the film. Anushka is terrific in this feel good song who harmonizes with Nikhil really well making a nice combo of sounds. Manoj’s lyrics deserve mention even though not having anything special in particular, it does work as a whole. The arrangements are beautiful and worth noticing, particularly the Violin that works behind the Guitar.

2. Got My Eyes On You – Singer: Mikey McCleary;  Lyrics: Mikey McCleary – Quite a weird song which does not have a mass appeal as Mikey has given it a very typical Rock ‘n’ Roll feel and has experimented a lot with not just arrangements but also with his own voice. Nevertheless, the song does have an impact, particularly for Mikey fans who love to hear experimentation from him. Sax, in particular, has a captivating sound.

3. Waiting For You – Singers: Anushka Manchanda, Mikey McCleary;  Lyrics: Mikey McCleary – On that endearing rhythm, this song is more like Mikey’s ad jingles and it sounds as pleasing as the jingles do. Anushka has an expertise in these compositions of Mikey and performs excellently. The arrangements are ear-friendly and capable of appealing most.

4. Zara Zara – Singers: Kavita Seth, Vishal Dadlani;  Lyrics: Ankur Tewari – Kavita Seth nails this melody which Mikey has tried to create out of his comfort zone. Vishal gives the apt amount of support to her but Kavita’s vocals easily overpower his dynamic voice. Still, both the singers nicely compliment each other. Violin works here prominently. A lovely composition. #WelcomeSong

An album that patiently delivers relaxing melodies. 

The Final Verdict:  OKAY


Musical Sameekshaa Monthly Awards (May 2016)

Singer of the Month (Female): Kavita Seth – Zara Zara (Waiting)

Singer of the Month (Male): Sonu Nigam – Dard (Sarbjit)

Singer Jodi of the Month: Arijit Singh & Antara Mitra – Itni Si Baat Hai (Azhar)

Composer of the Month (Song): Tanishk Bagchi – Allah Hu Allah (Sarbjit)

Lyricist of the Month: Rashmi Virag, Jaani – Dard (Sarbjit)

Composer of the Month (Album): Amaal Mallik, Jeet Gannguli, Tanishk Bagchi, Shail-Pritesh, Shashi-Shivamm – Sarbjit 

Song of the Month: Bol Do Na Zara – Sarbjit (Amaal Mallik, Rashmi Virag)

Album of the Month: Sarbjit – T-Series


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s