Shashwat Sachdev: The Next Big Thing!! (Phillauri – Music Review)

Anshai Lal’s directorial debut is under Clean Slate Films, a production house by Anushka Sharma and her brother Karnesh Sharma. It stars Anushka Sharma, Diljit Dosanjh, Suraj Sharma and Mehreen Pirzada.

CLICK to buy

CLICK to Listen

Music Label: T-Series

1. Dum Dum / Dum Dum (Punjabi Version) / Dum Dum (Reprise) – Singers: Romy, Vivek Hariharan / Diljit Dosanjh;  Music: Shashwat Sachdev;  Lyrics: Anvita Dutt / Shellee – Romy spell bounds with his Shahid Mallya sounding vocals, deeply rooted in Punjabi folk. Shashwat makes sure that the song doesn’t become one of the many Punjabi melodies and remains unique. He achieves that through a particular style of using percussion. Vivek makes a cameo and leaves a mark of his own. Shashwat has quite cleverly blended the folk and classical element into his composition. Anvita’s lyrics does complete justice to ensure the metaphorical yet rooted mood of the song.The Punjabi version doesn’t have much of a difference in arrangements. The difference is basically in the lyrics written by Shellee. Reprise in Diljit’s voice is equally good and refreshing.

2. What’s Up – Singers: Mika Singh, Jasleen Royal;  Music: Jasleen Royal;  Lyrics: Aditya Sharma – Jasleen enters the scene with a typical Mika track which when starts sounds exactly like the latest Cutie Pie from Ae Dil Hai Mushkil. Considering that the song doesn’t belong to Jasleen’s comfort zone, she does quite an impressive job. The notes are significantly catchy and Mika surprisingly justifies the lyrics quite well. The lyrics is out and out Punjabi and goes totally well with the composition.

3. Naughty Billo – Singers: Diljit Dosanjh, Nakash Aziz, Shilpi Paul;  Music: Shashwat Sachdev;  Lyrics: Anvita Dutt –The way it transits from sounding raw to landing on EDM makes it quite exciting. The beats are well programmed giving emphasis on exact words. Shashwat is able to manage the ensemble of three singers, each complimenting one another. The ending could have been better compared to the clever start. Anvita’s lyrics doesn’t seem to have much a role but she really seems aware of the beats and cleverly put those words accordingly. Catchy. 

4. Sahiba – Singers: Romy, Pawni Pandey;  Music: Shashwat Sachdev;  Lyrics: Anvita Dutt – The song that was featured in the trailer is actually the best song of the album. A very interesting build up has been given in the mukhda for the line sahiba. It is this song where Anvita’s writing is noticeable. Pawni has a very short portion but she totally nails it and shows her versatility after Laila. But the show stealer is Romy. The way he has managed to sing such varied sounding portions of the song, it’s remarkable. His vocals do complete justice. This composition is so well arranged and unusually structured that one has a natural curiosity to hear it again. Well done Shashwat!

5. Bajaake Tumba – Singers: Romy, Shehnaz Akhtar;  Music: Shashwat Sachdev;  Lyrics: Anvita Dutt – By now, it’s safe to assume that Romy must be the voice of Diljit in the film. Such varied notes in the mukhda enthralls you and the way he carries those notes with such ease is something to listen for. The song is more lyric-oriented. There’s a narrative element to it which Anvita has written so authentically and Shashwat has carried the song with those arrangements that you feel a part of that rural environment.  

6. Dil Shagna Da – Singer: Jasleen Royal;  Music: Jasleen Royal;  Lyrics: Neeraj Rajawat – Falling in her comfort zone, Jasleen seems to have fallen short this time with not-so-adorable composition. The kind of a tune she chose to have, she should have added some interesting elements to avoid being monotonous. The tune is indeed likable but not something to fall for. 

With Phillauri, Shashwat Sachdev is going to be the next most promising composer. 

Worth Listening: Dum Dum, Sahiba

The Final Verdict: 3.5/5

Public Ki Sameekshaa


Unusually Indie!! (NH10 – Music Review)

Anushka Sharma’s home production opens its account with this film which Phantom has co-produced, directed by Navdeep Singh who has a critically acclaimed film to his credit, Manorama 6 Feet Under. It’s a multi-composer soundtrack, still the soul of the album is uniform and very different from the usual Bollywood stuff.

CLICK HERE to buy Full Soundtrack of NH10 from iTUNES!!

CLICK to Listen Full Songs

Music Label: Eros Music

1. Chhil Gaye Naina – Singers: Kanika Kapoor, Dipanshu Pandit;  Music: Sanjeev Darshan;  Lyrics: Kumaar –  Unintentionally, but finally Kanika Kapoor gets to sing something different from her usual Meet Bros stuff. Due to her efficacious vocals, the song is provided with the required energy with all those Electric Guitars that make these type of songs affable to ears. Dipanshu Pandit leaves his positive impact with his alaap in the interlude. This is undoubtedly the catchiest song of the album and the most mass-oriented too. Slightly cliche but a likable melody from Sanjeev Darshan. #WelcomeSong

2. Le Chal Mujhe (Male) / Le Chal Mujhe (Female) / Le Chal Mujhe (Reprise) – Mohit Chauhan / Shilpa Rao / Arijit Singh;  Music: Bann Chakraborty;  Lyrics: Bann Chakraborty, Abhiruchi Chand – A sluggish melody that strongly invites you to take a wonderful nap with three version from three amazing singers. It spreads drowsiness in the atmosphere to the extremity and not in a good way. It takes hell of a time to first understand the melody as it’s very offbeat and till you understand it, you find yourself in a deep sleep mode. It’s a very different attempt and hard to digest. 

3. Main Jo – Singers: Nayantara Bhatkal, Savera Mehta;  Music: Ayush Shreshtha, Savera Mehta;  Lyrics: Manoj Tapadia – Again a uniquely crafted composition seems to be having the Spanish essence with singers rendering perfectly having Nayantara sounding like Shalmali and Savera souding like Nikhil D’Souza. Nayantara, in particular is damn cute with her lustrous vocals keeping the mood light and chilling. Great work through Accordion. Good attempt.

4. Khoney De / Khoney De (Instrumental) – Singers: Mohit Chauhan, Neeti Mohan;  Music: Bann Chakraborty;  Lyrics: Bann Chakraborty –  Surprisingly, this extended version of the three versions of Le Chal Mujhe is far better than the original ones. It seems to be the impact of the duet as Mohit Chauhan and Shilpa Rao make a great jodi. Bann Chakraborty has improvised the arrangements a bit which helps in making this song sound a bit different from the other three versions. Piano has been utilized well. Its offbeat nature has actually come out to be the best quality of this track. Lovable orchestration in the instrumental version with a beautiful Saxophone, sizzling enough to attract listeners. Nicely arranged.

5. Maati Ka Palang – Singer: Samira Koppikar;  Music: Samira Koppikar;  Lyrics: Neeraj Rajawat – Samira does a fab job but it is the arrangement which has been done flawlessly. The way the Sitar and Tabla has been fused giving it a complete Indie flavor, is the real beauty of this track. Samira as a composer could have worked more on the tune as it’s quite unembellished. Excellent arrangement!

6. Kya Karein – Singer: Rachel Varghese;  Music: Savera Mehta, Ayush Shreshtha;  Lyrics: Varun Grover –  Particularly, this track is the weirdest of all. It’s too slow to create any impact. Rachel justifies the mood of the track but Savera and Ayush, the composers have experimented too much with the mood and made the song extremely dull with no melodic power to retain listeners. Poor attempt.

 Not a cup of tea for a Bollywood music lover. Too much experimentation and hence, too much of complication in the compositions. 

The Final Verdict:  OKAY